logo

MONASTERY SAVINA

Additional Info
0 comments
Monastery Savina

The complex of the Savina Monastery is located 2km east of Herceg Novi in ​​a unique ambience of Mediterranean vegetation. It consists of two churches dedicated to the succession of the Virgin, the monastery conch with the treasury and the church of Sv. Save, set off on a nearby hill.

The monastery's treasury contains extremely valuable objects - the exhibits among which are distinguished: the crystal cross of Sv. Save from the 13th century, the life of Monastery Tvrdoš from 1615, jacket from 1642, silver petticoat from 1648. year, one 1650 putter, the gospel from 1685, a unique portrait of Russian Emperor Peter the Great, as well as a series of carved and richly decorated handmade and old crosses.

The monastery library contains a large number of valuable books and documents. In addition to the museum treasures that are exhibited in the treasury, Savina also has a miraculous icon, Mother of God, called the Savior of the Virgin. This worthy icon is a pious people without distinction in faith as a miracle. It is credited with the salvation of the monastery when Venetian captain Đerman, having touched the galleys under the monastery, wanted to blow it up in the air. The icon was attached to the monastery of the family of captain Josip Komnenović from Topola. In addition to this, in the large church there is a small icon of the Mother of God, an attachment of the Russian Empress of Ekaterina the Great.

Above the doors of the Little Church of the Dawn of the Virgin, on the inside, it is a fresco - inscription from 1831, to which 1030 is mentioned as the year of the creation of this church. years, but it is considered to be more probable that the church originates from the time of Kosač. On the inner walls, several layers of fresco painting were discovered, and the oldest was found under the layer of frescoes from 1565. It is believed that in the middle of the 15th century, the stylistic characteristics of the painting of Lovro Dobricevic came into being. The youngest painting is from 1831. Iconostasis is composed of several parts from various epochs. Imperial doors called "rigid" and many Crucifixes above them were made by 1703. Dimitrije Daskal, and the iconic icon of the Dedication of the Virgin, his son Rafailo.

The Great Church of the Dawn of the Virgin built it from 1777-1799. Korčula master Nikola Foretić. Saved documents indicate that 8454 workers participated in the construction during the first eight years of construction. In architectural terms, the church is a mixture of styles from the Byzantine, Romanesque - Greek to Baroque, and is a true example of a successful connection of eastern and western culture, which in this area has for centuries merged into outstanding works of art. Iconostasis in the church, made by Bjelopoljski iconographer, Pop Simeon Lazovic, with the help of his son Aleksej, in 1795. It also represents a successful blend of traditional iconography and new baroque forms. The Great Savina Church does not have one ktitor. The ktitor is the people themselves. The multiplicity of saved legends of certain families in the church confirms this.


Savina is a manatur who has gained lasting respect among the surrounding population and has built under his vaults a gallery of true monks who were great patriots, gangsters, bearers of culture and education during the period of the flourishing of the freedomary ideas of the people of this region. For years, the school has been run by a number of well-known personalities.

Church of Sv. The Sava is located on a hill above the hills and for her tradition says that it was built by St. Sava in the 13th century. He received the name and monastery, as well as the whole place where he is. Around the church there is a port and an unobstructed cemetery with a familiar viewpoint and a view that reaches even to Lovcen.
It was built in the tradition of single sacral non-imitation, single-breed, long 9,5m and wide 6m, and all around 6m tall, with a bell-shaped bell and an ocher above the western gate. Antimins is from the time of Arsenic IV Jovanovic Sakobent, 1740. Old priest, Pavel, the bishop of Herzegovina and Milesevo, in 1794. The view from this place to the monastery and Boka is magnificent and unforgettable.


  • Address: Manastirska 21, Savina, Herceg Novi

  • Phone

    +382 31 350 820